The director since June 2005 is Christian Nørgaard Storm Pedersen.

Previous directors were Carsten Wiuf (April 2004 - June 2005), Freddy Bugge Christiansen (September 2001 - April 2004) and Jotun Hein (March 2001 - September 2001).

Executive committee

The executive committee advises the director about the activities and future development of BiRC.  It discusses all issues that are important and fundamental for the centre.  The members of the executive committee are the chairmen of the committees listed below, but every member of the permanent staff at BiRC are welcome at committee meetings. The committee meets every second week. The meetings are chaired by the director. The daily decisions are the responsibility of the director of BiRC.

WWW committee

The WWW committee is responsible for the BiRC www pages.  The committee is responsible for maintaining the infrastructure of the official BiRC www pages and providing guidelines for their use. The committee discusses issues regularly.

  • Thomas Mailund (chairman)
  • Christian N.S. Pedersen
  • Palle V. Fredsted
  • Ellen Noer

Building and systems committee

The building and systems committee is responsible for the administration and distribution of the offices and IT infrastructure at BiRC.  The committee discusses issues regularly.

  • Thomas Mailund
  • Palle V. Fredsted
  • Christian N. S. Pedersen
  • Ellen Noer

PhD committee

The PhD committee is responsible for the PhD program in bioinformatics which is a part of the PhD program in computer science and bioinformatics. It refers to the Graduate School of Science and Technology. The committee meets at least four times annually.

  • Asger Hobolth
  • Christian N. S. Pedersen

Teaching committee

The teaching committee is responsible for the administration of the master program in bioinformatics and the planning of courses offered by BiRC. The committee meets at least four times annually.

  • Christian N.S. Pedersen (chairman)
  • Thomas Mailund
  • Asger Hobolth
  • Palle V. Fredsted
  • Thomas Bataillon
  • Mikkel Heide Schierup
  • Randi Pedersen (student member)
  • Emil Malta-Müller (student member)

Security group

The security group is responsible for matters related to the working environment (physical and psychological working conditions) in building 1110. The members of the security group at BiRC are:

  • Kasper Munch (Management representative)
  • Ellen Noer (Employee representative)


  • BiRC seminars: Monthy seminars with external speakers.  We aim at 8 seminars per year.  Organizer: Thomas Batailllon.
  • Wednesday morning talks: Weekly seminars with local speakers.  Organizer: Christian N. S. Pedersen.
  • BiRC Mols meeting: A yearly meeting in August where we discuss BiRC matters and research projects. Organizers: Palle V. Fredsted, Ellen Noer and Christian N. S. Pedersen.