Medical genetics

An important challenge in medicine and human genetics is to locate disease affecting genes and gene variants, to be able to study diseases, screen for high-risk individuals, and ultimately to help prevent or cure diseases. In spite of intense research there are still many unsolved problems such as understanding the underlying biology of common diseases, how best to address important disease questions with statistics and how to provide efficient computational methods to analysis large-scale data sets.

At BiRC we are involved in different projects, collaborating with local groups at the university and with groups outside the university. For example, we are involved in the development of computational and statistical methods and computer tools for locating disease genes, and for inferring genomic and epigenomic changes in cancer. The amount of data and the complexity of the problems make computer and statistical tools essential for successful studies. With the recent improvements in technologies that now allow simultaneous determination of many thousands (even hundreds of thousands) markers, the analysis of data is becoming the bottleneck of studies, and hence it is increasingly important to develop better and faster analysis methods.

Personnel

Phone numberName, Job title, Email, Unit (Building-room)
Besenbacher, Søren, , besenbacher@clin.au.dk, Department of Clinical Medicine - Molekylær Medicinsk afdeling (MOMA) (-)
+4587157896
Foldager, Leslie, Senior Researcher, leslie@anis.au.dk, Department of Animal Science - Behaviour and stressbiology (K27, 3216-)
Grove, Jakob, Associate professor, grove@biomed.au.dk, Department of Biomedicine - Forskning og uddannelse, Øst (1243, 215-)
+4578455364
Lamy, Philippe, Associate professor, philippe.lamy@clin.au.dk, Department of Clinical Medicine - Molekylær Medicinsk afdeling (MOMA) (-)
+4587155562
Mailund, Thomas, Associate professor, mailund@birc.au.dk, Bioinformatics Research Centre (BiRC) (1110, 326-)
+4587156535
Schierup, Mikkel Heide, Professor, mheide@birc.au.dk, Bioinformatics Research Centre (BiRC) (1110, 323-)

Recent publications


Sort by: Date | Author | Title