Evolutionary genomics

Evolutionary genomics is an interdisciplinary research field that draws inspiration from diverse research areas such as population genetics, molecular evolution and comparative genomics. Much have been learned in the last decade with the sequencing of numerous new genomes, including everything from virus and bacteria to model organisms such as fruit flies and nematodes as well as several vertebrates, none more important that the genome of our own species. With the recent sequencing of some of our closest living relatives we now have an unique opportunity to gain insight into some of the most fundamental questions in evolutionary biology: How, why and when do genomes evolve and which forces are responsible for governing the rate and direction of the evolution of genomes.

At BiRC we are currently involved in several different projects that all in some way or another deal with how, why and when genomes change over time. In particular we work on understanding the variation in evolutionary rates between and within species as well as how it changes over time. To do this we are developing novel models and methods to incorporate divergence and diversity data into large scale comparative analyzes. These types of analyzes have among other things provided valuable new insights into the mammalian evolutionary history and have allowed us to give qualitative and quantitative statements about the evolutionary processed and recent population size dynamics that have shaped the genomes of humans and other primates.

Personnel

Phone numberName, Job title, Email, Unit (Building-room)
+4587155717
Andersen, Lars Nørvang, Associate professor, larsa@math.au.dk, Department of Mathematics (1535, 324-)
+4587155574
Bataillon, Thomas, Associate professor, tbata@birc.au.dk, Bioinformatics Research Centre (BiRC) (1110, 321-)
Bechsgaard, Jesper Smærup, Member of Administrative Staff, jesper.bechsgaard@bios.au.dk, Department of Bioscience - Genetics, Ecology and Evolution (1535, 216-)
+4587156536
Christiansen, Freddy Bugge, , freddy@birc.au.dk, Bioinformatics Research Centre (BiRC) (1110, 328-)
+4587155573
Hobolth, Asger, Associate professor, asger@birc.au.dk, Bioinformatics Research Centre (BiRC) (1110, 324-)
Li, Shengting, Postdoc, shengting@biomed.au.dk, Department of Biomedicine - Forskning og uddannelse, Øst (-)
+4587155562
Mailund, Thomas, Associate professor, mailund@birc.au.dk, Bioinformatics Research Centre (BiRC) (1110, 326-)
Terkelsen, Kasper Munch, Assistant Professor, kaspermunch@birc.au.dk, Bioinformatics Research Centre (BiRC) (1110, 327-)
+4587156535
Schierup, Mikkel Heide, Professor, mheide@birc.au.dk, Bioinformatics Research Centre (BiRC) (1110, 323-)
Tataru, Paula, Postdoc, paula@cs.au.dk, Bioinformatics Research Centre (BiRC) (1110-)
+4587155556
Villesen, Palle, , palle@birc.au.dk, Bioinformatics Research Centre (BiRC) (1110, 321-)

Recent publications


Sort by: Date | Author | Title